Deleted items go to the wrong folder

Items that are deleted from a shared mailbox go to the wrong folder in Outlook.

You can use the Microsoft Fix IT from this link . http://support.microsoft.com/kb/202517

or you can manually do it following the instructions below.

To change the registry setting, follow these steps:

  1. In Outlook 2002, Outlook 2003, Outlook 2007, or Outlook 2010 click Exit on the File menu.

    In Outlook 2000, click Exit and Log Off on the File menu.

  2. Click Start, and then click Run.
  3. Type regedit, and then click OK.
  4. Locate the registry key below that is appropriate for your version of Outlook.
    • For Outlook 2010
      HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Outlook\Options\General
    • For Outlook 2007
      HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Outlook\Options\General
    • For Outlook 2003
      HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\11.0\Outlook\Options\General
    • For Outlook 2002:
      HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\10.0\Outlook\Options\General
    • For Outlook 2000:
      HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\9.0\Outlook\Options\General
  5. Right-click the DelegateWastebasketStyle value, and then click Modify.

    If the key is not present, use the following steps to create it:

    1. Right-click the General folder in the path defined in step 4 in the “To Switch the Destination of Deleted Items” section earlier in this article.
    2. Point to New, and then click DWORD Value.
    3. Type DelegateWastebasketStyle, and then press ENTER.
  6. Change the value data in the Edit DWORD Value dialog box to one of the following values:
    • 8 = Stores deleted items in your folder.
    • 4 = Stores deleted items in the mailbox owner’s folder.

 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply